NaNoWriMo comparisons between writers; Is it good or bad?

First of all I am so sorry for my absence. I am writing more than I ever have before as I decided to take part in NaNoWriMo or Nation Novel Writing Month. I am happy with progress so far but it really got me thinking, do you compare your work with others or do you set goals for your writing and try improve your bests?

For NaNo I have been chatting on a special chat room just for my area (Go Liverpool!) and have met many wonderful people, but we are all very different. We write for a set fifteen minuets and then share with everyone how many words we achieved. But should we compare with others?

I find that a little comparison can give me great boost of motivation, but mostly speaking I do not advise too much comparisons with other writers. Each of us has a different method for writing and a different speed and I think that’s great, something to be celebrated! ๐Ÿ™‚

If you write for the enjoyment of it then does it matter if someone else writes faster? If you write slower does it really matter if you are still meeting your own goals? I find it far more exciting when i smash my daily word goal or manage to write more in the set fifteen minuets than i usually do. You see the difference is that i try hard to compare myself with ME. So I know if i’ve done better than usual or if i’m having a bad day, not because i’m way behind one person (who’s perhaps written nearly 50k already) but because of comparing myself with what I usually achieve.

ย 

ย 

So what do you guys ย think? Is it better to compare yourself with others or do you think comparison with yourself is a healthier way to go? Let me know your thoughts ๐Ÿ™‚

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo comparisons between writers; Is it good or bad?

  1. My writing style, my writing system is my own and comparing myself to other writers would just lead me down the rabbit-hole of insecurity. Writing is hard enough without getting mixed up in that mess

  2. Yes I agree, I sometimes find myself leaning towards it but I try to just have my own goals firmly in my mind so i can assess how well i’ve done without referencing anyone but myself.

    Thanks for your response ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Whether you are comparing wordcount, voice, style, anything… always always always compare yourself with yourself and noone else.
    By all means take advice from other writers, or learn from books you read (how did the author create tension? why don’t we like this character? etc etc) but be your own writer, and most importantly write for yourself. When you write the books that you really want to read, that’s when you will create your best work.

Leave a Reply

