Homesick

 

 

Image

Missing home, I sit and look through photos

Gathering of the family plays before me

Not quite a film, but snap shots blurring together

Forming a slightly disjointed story line

Presents in various degrees of unwrap

The Christmas tree a fitting backdrop

 

 

 

Viewing these photos doesn’t ease my feelings

I yearn to see them so much more now

I feel so separate from the sisters

Those whom I shared a room with for many years

Looking back less than a year

Yet so much seems to have changed!

 Image

Nieces and nephews are growing up

The change seems unfair and too fast

I feel like life is tumbling away at great speed

But with these few Photos I can pause and rewind

Playing again the scenes from last Christmas

 

Knowing that this year I will not be seeing them

Image

9 thoughts on “Homesick

Leave a Reply

