Breath

It’s strange to think about breathing

Something that happens so naturally

Yet when you focus on each breath

How calm you become, relaxed, at peace.

 

It’s stranger still to think of trees

Their breath gives us a breath to take

Then we exhale and they breathe in

It really is so strange to think

 

The breaths I take are now slow

I measure each as they go and

Try imagining my muscles relax

First my hands, then arms, back…

 

Piece by piece I let myself be

In the present with breathing free

4 thoughts on “Breath

  1. I love this. I don’t comment very often because I’m lousy at it but I had to comment on this – it has such a beautiful flow. Especially loved:

    ‘It’s stranger still to think of trees

    Their breath gives us a breath to take’

Leave a Reply

