Dolphins

Here is a very short story. hope you enjoy 🙂

I had never seen a dolphin before but my sister had promised to take me for my eighth birthday. We would travel on a large boat and hope to see a few friendly dolphins. I had always loved the pictures of dolphins leaping high in the air and dancing amongst the waves. I couldn’t wait to turn eight.

On my birthday it was all I could talk about, I didn’t care about the chocolate my brothers had saved their money to buy or the long summer dress my mother had bought with its delicate flowers sewn along one strap. I dreamt each night of meeting a dolphin and becoming friends, dreams of diving through the waves.

I never thought of what my sister gave up, we would be gone for a week and she wouldn’t get any pay whilst we were gone. My sister worked in the village shop and my mum said she was lucky they let her keep her job. Going traveling just wasn’t something young women should be doing; we should be working and learning to be mothers. I didn’t know much about being a mother yet but I sure hated the lessons. My mother would often get frustrated with my tendency to day dream. One time I ended up stitching my sewing to my piny, my mother was furious with me and I went to bed without supper that day. I couldn’t understand why I couldn’t go explore like my brothers. They were always going out with dad to fish or farm and sometimes they would tell me great tales of their time away. I often wished to just be treated the same but then I didn’t know the sense of responsibility the males always carried; all I thought of was my stupid trip.

8 thoughts on “Dolphins

  1. Well written, but I tripped a little on the last sentence…I think you need a comma or semicolon right before “all I thought of was my stupid trip” to help reader digestion.

  2. I don’t even understand how I stopped up here, but I thought this put up used to be great. I don’t know who you might be but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger in the event you are not already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

