Jealous writer

Here is the post i was working on yesterday. I still don’t think it’s ready but I am at a loss to work out how to change it so i’ll post it and when I find a way to improve, I will just have to re-blog. I warn you it is a bit of a rant (I don’t always feel like this)

 

Does everyone write?

I talk to a friend of my novel

And I’m met with their ideas.

The story they wish to write.

 

I sit and listen patiently

But all the while

Feeling they have taken

From me, it’s me that writes

 

Well maybe everyone can write

But all I wanted, was

Something I’m good at

To not be something they’re all good at too

 

They have their work

They can contribute to the earnings

This is the nearest I might get

Writing gives me some achievement

 

It’s not about money for I doubt I’ll make any

It’s about doing something I’m good at

Only to find that it really isn’t anything special

It’s not as good as theirs

 

I wanted to have something, be someone

My jealousy burns with each good idea of theirs

6 thoughts on “Jealous writer

  1. I understand what you are saying, but when we start to gauge our talent by comparing ourselves to other people, we lose sight of ourselves and who we are. There are a lot of people who think your writing is good, me included, and those are the people you should be listening to. They are the ones who are telling you to believe in yourself. If other people have good ideas, that doesn’t in any way diminish the value of your own ideas. Try to have more confidence in yourself and believe in the people who believe in you.

    1. Aw thank you 🙂 yea i do try and not compare myself but I find it hard to not feel that my work is basic at best when i’m confronted with other people’s amazing ideas. You are right though their talent doesn’t diminish mine, just feels that way sometimes. Thank you for your encouraging words 🙂

  2. If somebody else somewhere is doing something that you consider to be better than the something you’re doing, then knuckle down and make sure that you end up doing your something to a better standard than the something they’re doing. Then you don’t have to worry.

    1. True i should use it to motivate myself in writing better. thou there’s is just an idea and i have written a few drafts of different stories and many poems so really i shouldn’t feel jealous, i’m getting better at writing all the time.
      Thanks for your comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

