Unpredictable writing

I haven’t written on here in a long time but I have spent the time reading other blogs and trying to read at least 5 poems a week. I want to broaden my mind and read all types of writing not just novels.

I am currently a little stuck in my writing project but I am trying a technique suggested in another blog; Writing a diary as if I were the main character.

Now i had great fun with the start but i haven’t finished planning the story so i can go no further. So i am a little stuck, wanting to write but at a bit of a standstill until the plan is finished. I guess i need to do writing exercises so if anyone has any suggestions please let me know.

It seems i fall in love with writing just at the point i can no longer write.

2 thoughts on “Unpredictable writing

  1. The diary idea is really great. It helps you get into the head of your character. Even if it has nothing to do with your story, just keep writing. Try the free fall method. Take an object, a picture, or simply a sentence or word and create a short story surrounding it. Set a timer. Five or ten minutes is fine. It’s a prompt to help you get started and to just simply start writing rather than sitting there not knowing what to write about. Don’t edit, don’t re-read what you’ve written, and keep writing until the alarm goes off. Also, is there a scene in your novel that you know you want to write? If you keep imagining a particular scene, don’t wait for the outline. It could be the first chapter or even the last. Just write it while it’s still stuck in your head, even if you have to change parts of it later. Hope that helps. And remember you’re a writer. Write something. Write anything 🙂

    1. Thank you very much! I’m compiling a few writing exercises to keep me going so i will add yours. I have managed to write two poems today so i’m feeling much more like a writer :).
      I’m not sure there is a scene really, i think i’m finding it hard to imagine the world atm (It’s a fantasy) but it will develop over time.
      Thank you again, you’ve been really helpful 🙂

Leave a Reply

